Need jetting opinions

Smitty jr

Oct 6, 2017
Hey everyone I’m new to blaster forms but not new to the mechanics world I don’t get to ride much yet but I just got done the majority of my blaster rebuild and am having some jetting issues I think! Here’s what I know off the top of my head!

Exhaust: FMF gold series fatty with powercore2
Airbox: stock box no lid w/ cheap pre oiled filter
Carb: mikuni vm26(pretty sure)
Main Jet: 220
Pilot jet: 32.5
Crank: stock
Cylinder: stock
Head: stock
Reeds: Boysen pro series carbon fiber
Oil pump: stock pump (considering premix)

So it can idle fine with choke off but won’t idle with choke out however it will not really move unless choke is out. The bike just bogs right out when I hit the throttle unless I go extremely slow on the throttle and when I’m at an idle with the choke off and hit the throttle it bogs out unless I nearly touch the throttle so I’m guessing it needs a bigger jet. Any opinions would be appreciated and thanks in advance!!

Attachments

• 7EEF9916-46C2-4657-BDDA-E912EDB5870D.jpeg
    7EEF9916-46C2-4657-BDDA-E912EDB5870D.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 220
  • C3E246D9-106F-4D40-A84C-5D87E8AE915D.jpeg
    C3E246D9-106F-4D40-A84C-5D87E8AE915D.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 186
Look in the carb section for threads on.... float heights, adjust airscrew/pilot, and plug chops for main jetting. And do them in that order......
http://www.blasterforum.com/forums/carburetor.138/

stock 32.5 pilot, airscrew at 1.5 turns out to start, and the needle clip should be in the middle position

Main jetting.....
Buy 270 thru 300 main jets, start large and plug chop down.

Reactions: OConnor Racing
Hi thanks for the link I did happen to see that post before I posted but just wasn’t sure the jet size I should go for I forgot to also mention I’m only 150’ - 200’ above sea level is this going to make a huge impact on the jet size??

what is sticking out of airbox side boot?
i highly doubt your main jet and pilot jet is your problem