Is this a cracked case? Can I fill it in or get a new one?

Immabept

Jun 24, 2015
I bought a used 1997 blaster that seemed to be running great. I later realized it would not hold tranny oil. The fluid would disappear after starting the engine, which was letting out white smoke, and would not return after stopping for a couple hours. There was no oil leaking and this happened even if I just let the engine idle in place.

I read on this forum and decided it was probably a crank seal. I removed the engine and am in the process of changing them, going to a buddies to get his flywheel puller tomorrow. From what I can see now the right side seal looks pretty new, and everything inside the engine is very clean like it has been rebuilt. I did not do leak down test because I thought it would only detect a leak to the outside of the engine, not between the top and bottom end. (I'm new to these engines and now I think I might have been wrong about the leak down test.)

I found some jb weld or liquid gasket or something caked on inside the chamber that houses the crankshaft (what is this called?), right where one would split the case. It looks like it might be cracked. Should I definitely split the case now to see this better? Is this kind of thing repairable? Would I be better off leaving the case sealed and putting more stuff on it to fill any hole? Will a leak-down test show me if this spot is what is leaking?

Thanks for any help you can provide!
2 Up close pics from inside of 'crankshaft chamber?' 20150623_205822[1].jpg 20150623_193208[1].jpg
Right side oil seal looks good to me?20150623_192449[1].jpg
Different angle to show that the damage in the crank chamber is pretty small not huge20150623_211059[1].jpg

Split the cases and make sure.
If it is cracked it can be repaired by welding!

Change both seals!

A leak test will tell you if the seals and case is leaky!

White smoke is a dead giveaway that the crank seal is leaky!

Split the cases and make sure.