HP gain?

BoDaddy87

Sep 11, 2016
Im just starting out learning how to "clean up" the cylinder. Like polishing the exhaust and transfer ports. If nicely cleaned up about how much gain will it be? Thanks for your time.
Other mods in case you need to know..
-Fmf powercore 2
-Fmf fatty
-67mm wiseco piston
-Vito's .018 high comp head gasket
-hotrod crank
-bigger jet
-boyesen dual stage reeds

Im just starting out learning how to "clean up" the cylinder. Like polishing the exhaust and transfer ports.

If you're going to do your own Porting, I'd suggest getting the crank welded. Just piece of mind.

As for gains, KOR has riders claiming high 20's - low 30's. Without dyno runs, it's all taken on word of mouth. You'll probolt be in the middle of those numbers. Maybe 23-28? It's good power considering stock the bike is 17 or 18 HP.

You need to have as much info as possible. Here's a link to the best info you can get on the web IMO.

http://www.macdizzy.com/cyl_primer.htm

Last edited:
Stay away from 'template' port jobs. They're considered hack jobs. You need to know numbers, squish, deck heights, blah blah blah. Know what you're doing, what does what, what needs to be removed, and what needs to be cleaned up. I would also see if you can grab a spare 'practice' cylinder to hone your skills on. That way if something happens you have your original head laying around.

Good luck and have fun :)

Last edited:
Great thanks guys! Iv been practicing, iv got 4 cylinders lol. I feel like it's going good, iv got a good buddy thats showing me the ropes and also watching all the Kon Oconnor vids on youtube.

IMG_2757.JPG
IMG_2758.JPG
IMG_2759.JPG
IMG_2805.JPG
IMG_2789.JPG
Heres some before and after, still alot of work to do but waiting for my blue stones and polishers to come in

Reactions: Awk08
I've done some of the polishing tricks one at a time to see what the gain is.
Porting the exhaust only at the cylinder (as to a template) delivered a sizable improvement.