how to check for spark

Discussion in 'Engine' started by cap9709, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. cap9709

    cap9709 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas
    What I'd the best way? Currently I have the plug in the boot dangling next to the engine, its not sparking? The carb also isn't hooked up would that make a difference? Thanks! Also does anybody know which wires have to be hooked together for the bike to start? Isn't it just the black with black and white stripe? Thanks!
  2. davenichole

    davenichole New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Illinois
    you will at least have to have the spark plug grounded to something metal. it will not work just hanging out in the open from the boot. no carb is required for there to be a spark.
  3. blasterBruce

    blasterBruce New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Griffin Ga
    You will want to Almost touch the Tip of the spark plug to the Top of your Cylinder head , If It does not throw Bright blue Spark , Something is either weak or Damaged
  4. Awk08

    Awk08 Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,157
    Likes Received:
    743
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Occupation:
    Electrician/Contractor
    Location:
    Pa.
    the only reason any black and black/white stripe wire get connected is to kill the engine, at the start/run switch and the key switch, dinsonnecting them with the switch is what allows it to start.
  5. gb blaster

    gb blaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Forklift operator
    Location:
    Maryland
    ^^ Awks advise
    Un twist the kill switch wires first
    Then ground plug to cylinder make sure switch is on an kick to check for spark... Don't need fuel to have spark carb can be off!

    No spark after that, well seems you may be playing with wires with out knowledge check this.

    http://www.blasterforum.com/engine-13/stock-wiring-diagrams-51842/
  6. Xero

    Xero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England, UK.
    easy way to test for a spark if you know it's a good plug is put a screw driver into the suppressor cap and hold the metal part of the screw driver and carefully kick over the engine... if your still holding the screw driver at the end... it isn't sparking I:I

    or the better way is to get someone else to hold it and watch their face... that's e
    where my dad comes in handy ;)
  7. blasterdemon7

    blasterdemon7 I'm not mad. I'm winning.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13,430
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Used auto sales and Mechanic.
    Location:
    Delaware
    That's the best way to check for spark. I:I
  8. gb blaster

    gb blaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Forklift operator
    Location:
    Maryland
    ^^^^ also happens to be the funniest!
  9. Blaaster

    Blaaster Moderator Staff Member Technician Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    13,251
    Likes Received:
    618
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pensioner
    Location:
    eastern australia
    Aint nuffin to laff about if you are holding the screwdriver:D
  10. slickerthanyou

    slickerthanyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7,533
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing not mentioned is use a spark tester! If your trying to ground the plug to the motor you will need to clean the paint off the part of the motor your using to ground the plug- first or you will never get spark.

Share This Page