High idle, Help- TORS?!?!!

jones2014

Apr 18, 2014
I am new to atv's. Just bought a 03 blaster. was riding perfectly fine and then it stopped running. took apart carb and cleaned it, main jet is 230 pilot is 35, It turned out to be a broken reed. replaced with boyesen power reeds, put everything back together and may have stripped tors idle screw because idle climbs out of control when started and you have to kill it, I noticed that the tors throttle cable doesnt allow the carb slide to fully seat, maybe 1/2 inch from fully seated. Also keep turning idle screw counter clockwise and it does nothing. air screw alll the way in helps take it down for the most part but still to high and not right. Help please, I dont believe there are any air leaks

Full fmf pipe, boyesen power reeds.

Did you mess with the thumb throttle adjustment?
no I havent messed with the thumb throttle, there is a little play before you feel it catch, but where the idle screw seems to hold the carb slide to high and its stripped that way, im thinking. When first started after the cleaning I had to give constant gas to keep from dying so i turned the idle screw and it just kept turning, when it was started again the idle shot up extremely high and the screw wouldnt adjust the idle anymore.

Was it like this prior to taking carb apart? Sounds like cable is hanging somewhere or carb wasn't reassembled correctly
no it wasnt like this before, it ran fine, have taken the carb apart again and put it back togther to double check everything. it really seems like the tors wont let the slide seat, the little black piece inside wont let the cable loosen enough

yep, that slide must be all the way down for a normal idle.
a tors delete cap/kit is your best and easiest option.

you can't just "believe" there are no airleaks, the intake is the main offender and must be leakdown tested everytime it is removed, to "prove" there are no airleaks