frustrated rider

shad0

Jul 16, 2008
man i tell ya, this is about the 5th atv related question i've asked on forums in one place or another. i have yet to get an answer. this is a fairly simple question so maybe i'll have more luck this time

i have a stock 2000 yfs200. it would fire on the 2nd kick and go pretty well. i removed the exhaust baffles and the airbox lid to increase performance a little. since then it is incredibly hard to cold start and would bog under throttle and die if you tried to let it idle until it got good and warm. i know i have to adjust the fuel mixture, and that's where i am screwed up. in trying to adjust it, i played with the air/fuel mixture screw on the side of the carb and the idle thumb screw under the seat. now, i adjusted the fuel mixture in 1/4 turn increments. the initial setting was 1 complete turn from full in. i adjusted it out another 1/2 turn. it started revving incredibly high so i started playing with the idle thumbscrew under the seat. now i can't get the thing to fire at all. i can reset the air/fuel mixture to stock, but i don't know what the stock setting is on the idle thumbscrew. can somebody tell me what the stock setting is for the idle and what adjustments i should actually be making to accomodate the increased airflow.

There really is no stock setting on the idle screw, everyone will have theres a little different. If you're going to run with the air box lid off you need to bump up the main jet to accommidate for the increase in air

There really is no stock setting on the idle screw, everyone will have theres a little different. If you're going to run with the air box lid off you need to bump up the main jet to accommidate for the increase in air
yup. that and the baffle being off will actually decrease your power a little bit without rejetting.

i sit here in shock and awe. 2 real life responses in a matter of minutes!! wow.