Another voltage regulator Q!!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by xjma, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. xjma

    xjma Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Hydrogeologist
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USSA
    So, I tested my voltage regulator. Tested from the brake light. All bulbs were burnt out. At idle, and just above, it would jump up to 15 or so. Went to dealership, got new bulb for 3.50, but they didn't have a voltage regulator there, they cost 88 bux or so, and even the dude behind the counter recommended that I get something aftermarket or used!! Anyone know of a cheaper part??

    So I went home, and I took the voltage regulator off of the blaster that I've still got ripped apart and threw it on the running one. Tested it at idle, and just above (motor was cold, so just light revs while it was warming up with choke out) and it didn't go above 4....I thought my problem was solved!! Threw the new bulb in and started to ride. The light worked fine while I slowly took a lap around the yard to get the bike warmed up, you know, nothing more than 1/4...maybe 1/2 throttle to get the motor warm. Then once I warmed it up a bit and opened her up, the light burnt out!! Happened the first time I really hit the powerband hard.....


    So, no my question is, could there be something happeneing that would be blowing the regulator? Do they just wear out after so many hours?? I have no idea if this regulator that I put in was even good, the headlight on the other blaster is burnt out too....not sure if it was just from useage or if that reg is toast too....

    Also, anyone know of a cheaper alternative to the stock voltage regulator for 88 bux?? Other than strapping a headlamp on and riding!!!a


    *edit* - I guess bikebandit has them for 72.30...but that's still kinda expensive for a little metal box!!
  2. djack12

    djack12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    ill sell you my voltage regulator. i dont have lights on my blaster anymore.
  3. phragle

    phragle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Godfather to the blaster family
  4. Blasterdude27

    Blasterdude27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,593
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Just outside of fairbanks ak
    ^^^^^What he said. I have that one on another bike of mine its never fried or failed.
  5. xjma

    xjma Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Hydrogeologist
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USSA
    Sweet, just what I need!! Other than it not failing like the stocker, what specifically is better about it? Got any technical info? I just like to know these things!

    Thanks for the offer D.Jackson, but I think I'll just go this route...
  6. RobJ

    RobJ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You tried two voltage regulators and they both fried. Are they properly grounded? If they aren't grounding properly they won't work. Check that out.

    Have a great day,

    Rob.
  7. rick200

    rick200 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i purchased one of these unoiversal voltage regulators. do i just ground the black wire to ground and connect the yellow wire to the blue wire coming from the stock harness or do i have to ground it by bolting it to the frame through the center whole? thanks, any help will be apreciated.
  8. super noober

    super noober Can't Stop, Won't Stop!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Nothing worth bragging about
    Location:
    upstate ny
    the stock one gets bolted to the frame so i would do that, might not even matter but just n case lol :D

Share This Page