2000 Blaster Project

RobCBlaster

Mar 1, 2015
Hey guys! :) I thought I'd show you the blaster I'm working on! I'm new to blasters, and I understand that many people that have owned a blaster, have owned more than one! I'd love to get advice from you guys as this build progresses and would be more than happy to hear your feedback whether its good or bad!

So around 2 weeks ago, I traded my 1985 Ski-Doo Citation 250 for a 2000 Blaster. The guy had told me that the top end had recently been rebuilt, but the main bearing on the clutch side let go, and it had been sitting ever since. When he came it became very clear just how this machine had been treated. Dirt, Rust, Faded plastics, Grease.. It looked like a mess! But accepting that my machine was a lot older, and that id been looking for a project for some time, I took the trade.

Shortly after he pulled off with my sled, Me and my brother had the motor off of the blaster. We first took the head and cylinder off, and it appeared that the seller had been moderately truthful. The Piston and rings had very low use, rings still had plenty of life and piston still had the "first start" coating. However.. When the crank bearing went, something happened and it melted the piston slightly on the right side. Luckily, barely any damage was done to the cylinder (still standard bore) and I could get away with a slight hone. After that I turned my attention to the connecting rod which unfortunately had loads of side to side play, far from the couple thousandths of an inch tolerance for the thrust washers. Then for the main bearings, the supposed "only problem it had." :mad: When I took the flywheel cover off, to no surprise, a TON of play. So I split the cases and removed the crank. Then set off to my local bike shop to order some parts.