1988 yamaha blaster

Discussion in 'General Support' started by sonny73, May 25, 2010.

  1. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    Well i bought a used stock cylinder, head , piston and rings off of a guy in cleveland. I put them on and two kicks and it fired right up. This is after midway yamaha told me my cam was bad. I guess that they just wanted to take me for a grand. I am laughing last. I have a total of 200.00 in my blaster now and it runs. It still spits and sputters a little, but i am giong to clean the carb, and check air filter. Also, the bike ran like crap until it blew the second half of the exhaust off. Maybe my muffler is clogged, or something. If anyone has any helpful hints write me at erentzfamily@aol.com. I can never find anything i write.
  2. brandoz28

    brandoz28 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Iowa
    WOW they're crooks like crazy then............2 stroke=no cam
  3. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    Wow your atv looks good. mine is just original yellow frame with blue plastic. Yes i have been riding it everyday no problems.
  4. fsuroxu

    fsuroxu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Welder
    Location:
    Hartselle, AL
    Yeah, you did tell them it was a Blaster right? Two stoke? Those guys are idiots! The only cam in a Blaster is the shift cam and it has nothing to do with the engine firing up. DUH!
  5. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    yes it isw a blaster. I just uploaded pics of it on my profile i have no clue how to make it show by my name.
  6. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    What weight of oil should i put in my blaster? just curious thanx.
  7. xJust_Causex

    xJust_Causex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    temp
    Location:
    york, Illinois
    Put where? penziol 2-stroke oil in the fuel and bel ray gear saver 80w in the case is what I run, but you can run a good 10-40 as well
  8. hotrodaj_2

    hotrodaj_2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Heavy equip. Operator
    Location:
    Central California
    Dude, do you know the difference between a 2 stroke and a 4 stoke? I'm not saying your dumb, dont get me wrong, you sound like your talking about a 4 stroke though. The only oil you have to be concerned about weight on is the transmission oil. Fuel oil has no weight. I use 10-40 Yamalube in my trans. There are no cams in a 2 strokes either, what did your shop check.
  9. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    I was talking about the transmission oil as it is a 2 stroke blaster. They just looked at the piston and rings. they tried to con me. I also have a slight problem it runs good if it is choked, but sputters if you take off the choke and will not idle. When it is open up, it runs fine. it is just at a low idle it sputters. I am thinking og cleaning out the carb. I already put a new filter and fuel filter on it. Any help ?
  10. hotrodaj_2

    hotrodaj_2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Heavy equip. Operator
    Location:
    Central California
    Either a dirty carb or your jet and settings are off. I guess you have messed with the idle screw? Dont know what carb you have but the idle screw is a air adjustment, not fuel. If you open up the screw you will increase air flow and lean engine out. Besides that, get us carb info, (jet, needle height, ect...)
  11. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    No i have not adjusted anything yet. It is the stock carb. i bought this bike used a couple of months ago. thank you for the help. I am going to take it off and clean it.
  12. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    i believe that it is all stock. i have made no adjustments. i might buy a rebuild kit.
  13. sonny73

    sonny73 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    grave digger
    Location:
    akron
    Well i just found out that my blaster is a 1996 not a 1988. I ran the vin and that is what yamaha told me.

Share This Page