01 Blaster could not get old carb to work (Mikuni 26)

FXSTSHDRIDER

Feb 13, 2018
so I had a new Mikuni 32 from a friend and put it in with the same idle jet (idles well) and put the same main jet back in and when I hit the throttle it picks up immediately but then acts like it is out of gas. What size jet should I try? I read on here that some went with a smaller jet than a 280 and it worked. My concern is scorching the piston with not enough gas. I am new to this type stuff so go easy on me, please...

WELCOME !!

What other mods do you have? Did you set the float level?
Carb NEVER used? If it was , clean it first, including emulsion tube/main jet holder. Using a cup or something check fuel flow from tank. What notch is needle on ? Might try using Blaster needle. What did this carb come off of?

Only change one thing at a time. If not better or no change, put back as it was, try something else.

When you say it sounds like running out of gas, does it blubber or does it sound flat ,WAAAAaaa ?

New carb with needle on leanest level and it flat out waaaaaa's at half throttle then once I let loose it comes back to idle. And, thanks for the welcome. I almost ordered a 310 jet today but figured I would get some info from those who know more before purchase.

WELCOME !!

What other mods do you have? Did you set the float level?
Carb NEVER used? If it was , clean it first, including emulsion tube/main jet holder. Using a cup or something check fuel flow from tank. What notch is needle on ? Might try using Blaster needle. What did this carb come off of?

Only change one thing at a time. If not better or no change, put back as it was, try something else.

When you say it sounds like running out of gas, does it blubber or does it sound flat ,WAAAAaaa ?